Luminous, the fourth record from London’s The Horrors, is released today via XL Recordings / Remote Control.

Recorded over 15 months in the band’s east London studio-laboratory-bunker with co-producer Craig Silvey, Luminous is the follow-up to the band’s 2007 debut Strange House, the Mercury-nominated Primary Colours (2009) and the critically-acclaimed Skying (2011

Watch the video for ‘So Now You Know’

The Horrors – Luminous is out now via XL Recordings / Remote Control


The Horrors release a very special, limited edition, deluxe boxed set of the singles and videos from Skying, available digitally now followed by a physical release in March 2013. The set includes covers, re-workings and remixes from Andrew Weatherall, Seahawks, Connan Mockasin and more.

“We were driving through the deserts of California when we hatched the plan to release a boxed set of the singles from Skying, unaware that it would balloon into the monster that it did. We started off small, just one version per single. However, through chance encounters and wanting to involve more people whose music excited us, the box soon grew into an impressive collection of sonic tapestries and hypnotic grooves and it became apparent that this was no longer about the singles. It was now about this new music which had used the different elements of Skying as a springboard to other ideas. We encouraged everyone involved to be as obtuse as possible, to get as far away from the original source material as they could. The results are stunning, and I think it’s just a shame we couldn’t have done more.” – Tom Furse, The Horrors

The box set features an eclectic collection of musicians, DJs and producers from widely contrasting genres but all fans and friends of The Horrors:- Connan Mockasin, Seahawks, Andrew Weatherall, Blanck Mass, Peaking Lights, Cherrystones, Chris Watson, Daniel Avery, JTC and Andy Blake.

“One of the pleasures of remixing is seeing how other people construct their music. Re-arranging the bricks in The Horrors wall of sound was a particular joy.” – Andrew Weatherall

“It was an honour to create these remixes and they’re probably the most enjoyable we’ve ever done. Having parts from the entire album to work with was an amazing luxury. To choose from the myriad sounds that spilled out from the folders was like walking into a psychedelic sweet shop with all the flavours of the universe on display.” - Pete Fowler, Seahawks

Amongst the collection’s many diverse interpretations is Chris Watson’s reworking of ‘Dive In’. Watson, one of the world’s leading sound recorders of wildlife and natural phenomena and founder of post punk outfit Cabaret Voltaire, describes the field recordings he included in his intriguing mix:

“I used Weddell seals singing at the intro recorded under the Antartic sea ice. The rhythms of the Humbolt current around the Galapagos Islands recorded with DPA hydrophones. Singing grey seals recorded out on the Farne Islands, Northumberland and the processed voices of Orca, killer whales, recorded in the sea of Norway.”

The images that make up the cover and boxed set package were created by celebrated young artist Leif Podhajsky who has previously artworked releases by Lykke Li, Tame Impala and Grimes.


Stream Higher below


Limited Edition Boxed Set

12″ Vinyl One

A1. Still Life

A2. Still Life                                (Connan Mockasin Remix)


B1. Still Live                               (Still Living Still Giving Cherrystones Remix)

B2. Dive In                                 (The Pressure Ridges) – Chris Watson Remix

12″ Vinyl Two

A1. I Can See Through You

A2. Monica Gems                       (Daniel Avery Remix)


B1. I Can See Through You          (Blanck Mass Remix)

12″ Vinyl Three

A1. Changing The Rain

A2. You Said                              (Peaking Lights Dub U Mix)


B1. Comes In Waves                  (Seahawks Skying Suite)


12″ Vinyl Four

A1. Moving Further Away                        (Andrew Weatherall Remix)


B1. Moving Further Away                        (Andy Blake World Unknown Mix)


CD One

1. I Can See Through You                        (Blanck Mass Remix)

2. Monica Gems                                     (Daniel Avery Remix)

3. Still Life                                               (Connan Mockasin Remix)

4. You Said                                            (Peaking Lights Dub U Mix)

5. Still Live                                              (Still Living Still Giving Cherrystones Remix)

6. Moving Further Away                         (Andrew Weatherall Remix)


CD Two

1. Comes In Waves                     (Seahawks Skying Suite)

2. Moving Further Away               (Andy Blake World Unknown Mix)

3. Dive In                                     (The Pressure Ridges)

4. You Said                                  (JTC Remix)

5. Wild Eyed                                (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

6. Moving Into Blue                      (Seahawks Skying Suite)



Still Life Video                               (Directed by Oliver Murray)

I Can See Through You                (Directed by White Rabbit)

Changing The Rain                       (Directed by Pete Fowler)


After the Laneway Festival in Melbourne and Sydney the guys from the trendsetting label, Young Turks will be taking over venues with their roster of acts, presented by Laneway Festival and Opulent.

Launched in 2006, Young Turks has become one of the most heralded labels for their choice in acts. Home to luminaries The xx, El Guincho, Holy Fuck and Jamie xx Young Turks continues to promote music that defines and influences modern day music today.

Laneway Festival and Opulent Presents

Doors: 11.00pm

Featuring special performances from Young Turks acts, SBTRKT (DJ Set), John Talabot, Oneman and Bullion.

Purchase tickets here.

Doors: 10:00pm

Featuring Young Turks acts and friends, the Horrors (DJ set),Sampha, Oneman and Bullion. Plus more!

Purchase tickets here.