The Datsuns, New Zealand’s most internationally applauded rock ‘n’ roll band, will release their fifth studio album Death Rattle Boogie on 5 October 2012 via Hellsquad / MGM Distribution.

Death Rattle Boogie will be available ten years to the day of releasing their  highly acclaimed self-titled debut. To celebrate, The Datsuns have released a new music video and offer a free song download.

2002 saw The Datsuns catapulted into the international music scene with the release of their debut record and being hailed by the British press as “the future of rock”.

Being plastered on the cover of one of the world’s biggest music publications was more than the band were ever expecting. The decade since has seen The Datsuns produce another three studio albums, tour the world many times and play some of the biggest music festivals on the planet.

Cut to 2012 and The Datsuns are ready to launch the album they are most proud of to date. Recorded in Sweden at lead singer Dolf De Borst’s Gutterview studios and at Neil Finn’s Roundhead studios in Auckland, Death Rattle Boogie took shape under the watchful hand of Nicke Andersson, ex-member of Swedish hard-rockers, The Hellacopters.

“As I’ve got older, I’ve realized the album is a band’s legacy,” says Dolf, of the mindset behind Death Rattle Boogie. “It’s what you leave behind.”

This realisation of legacy honed focus on the production of the album and the band made the most of being in the lead singer’s own studio.

Dolf elaborates, “Trying different things in the studio that you can’t do live, and dissecting records that I really love and working out, ‘How did they do that’ … So we’ve tried and make things sound a little weirder and wilder, instead of just setting up and pressing record.”

To mark this announcement, The Datsuns are giving away album track ‘Gods Are Bored’ via their website, where fans will also get the first look at the song’s music video. With more news to follow, including the first official single to be released in the coming weeks, fans from around the globe will be chomping at the bit to get their hands on this.

The Datsuns are: Dolf De Borst (vocals / bass), Christian Livingstone (guitar), Phil Somervell (guitar) and Ben Cole (drums).

Stay tuned for tour details.