Alabama Shakes have taken the world by storm with their recent performances at SXSW in Austin, Texas.

Performing to sold out crowds and receiving standing ovations over multiple nights, Alabama Shakes have made their mark as a major new rock and roll band, with everyone from the Los Angeles Times to Rolling Stone USA praising their talents.

Boys & Girls, the hypnotic, show-stopping debut album from Alabama Shakes, will be released on 6 April 2012 via Rough Trade / Remote Control.

Listen to Alabama Shakes perform live from SXSW:

“It’s not hard to recognize greatness like this” StarTribune

“Howard is a performer who instantly demands the spotlight. She stomps, she howls, she hollers and she grooves, tackling vintage soul and blues with the rock ‘n’ roll ferocity of Jack White.” Los Angeles Times

“Billed as one of this year’s must-see acts at SXSW, the group delivered on their hype” Rolling Stone USA

“To say that the Alabama Shakes live up to the hyperbolically positive advance buzz is an understatement—they aren’t just the best band at SxSW, they might be the best, most authentic new American band of the 21st Century.” Hyper Vocal

“Brittany Howard might be the most exciting young indie-soul singer in the game … Best New Artist. You heard it here first.” Oakland Tribune

“Armed with a bright new batch of songs from the forthcoming Boys & Girls — not to mention booming, shout-along standbys like ‘Hold On’ — lead singer Brittany Howard seemed to feed off a crowd 2,000 strong and packed to the exits. Commanding the spotlight with a generous set worthy of a headliner, Alabama Shakes ought to get used to playing for this many people in years to come.” NPR

“Their raucous live shows are already the stuff of legend … the future is theirs for the taking” NME


Boys & Girls, the full-length debut album from Alabama Shakes, will be released on 6 April 2012 via Rough Trade / Remote Control.

Comprising vocalist/guitarist Brittany Howard, guitarist Heath Fogg, drummer Steve Johnson and bassist Zac Cockrell, Alabama Shakes began performing together in high school. Boys & Girls was recorded at The Bomb Shelter in Nashville, USA. Produced and mixed by the band, the album is a vibrant fusion of swampy, dirty south-rock, blues and soul delivered with punk rock fervour.

Alabama Shakes’ upcoming 2012 NME Awards debut UK shows have all sold out. Jack White’s Third Man Records has selected Alabama Shakes to kick off its series of live 45 releases with a two-song 7” due out in late January. Alabama Shakes will also make its television debut on in the USA on Conan on Tuesday 7 February 2012.

STREAM ‘HOLD ON’ – taken from debut album Boys & Girls.



Boys & Girls track-listing:

1. Hold On
2. I Found You
3. Hang Loose
4. Rise To The Sun
5. You Ain’t Alone
6. Goin’ To The Party
7. Heartbreaker
8. Boys & Girls
9. Be Mine
10. I Ain’t The Same
11. On Your Way