Majical Cloudz will release their new album Impersonator on Friday 24 May via Matador / Remote Control.

For the past few years, Devon Welsh has been recording solo material composed between rural Ontario and Montreal, and collaborating in production & performance with Matthew Otto under the guise Majical Cloudz.

Impersonator’s expressive power and swagger belie its extremely minimal music. These are intensely lyrical songs about death, patience, family, friendship and desire, with Welsh’s rich vocals atop Matthew Otto Kolaitis’ quiet looped waves of white noise, filtered synths and sparse thuds.

Majical Cloudz’ Devon Welsh explains of Impersonator:

In the last few years there’s been a massive explosion of amazing music made with computers, samplers and other electronic equipment. The possibilities became nearly endless and musicians indulged those possibilities. I love that kind of music but it also started to overwhelm me. I wasn’t cut out for the maximalist expressions of that style. So I took a break from music, and when I started again it was to make music that barely existed and felt like stillness more than movement. Where the songs could be more about humanness. I love all forms of electronic music, techno, house, rave, hip-hop, but I never want to feel like the music I’m making is just about stylistic play. The easiest way for me to do that is try to make something without obvious movement; where the music isn’t overstuffed sonically or referentially, it’s emptied out as much as possible. So the vision for Impersonator was to communicate a lot with as little as possible. It’s not meant to energize and turn you out to the world, it’s meant to do the opposite; it’s more like a cocoon.

Impersonator track-list:

1. Impersonator

2. This Is Magic

3. Childhood’s End

4. I Do Sing For You

5. Mister

6. Turns Turns Turns

7. Silver Rings

8. Illusion

9. Bugs Don’t Buzz

10. Notebook

Download: Majical Cloudz – ‘Childhood’s End’ HERE

Watch Majical Cloudz perform previously released album track ‘Turns Turns Turns’ live via Yours Truly below.

Majical Cloudz “Turns Turns Turns” from Yours Truly on Vimeo.

Download ‘Turns Turns Turns’ HERE.


‘Prancer’ is the first track taken from the forthcoming album One of Us is the Killer out May 2013 via Party Smasher Inc. / Remote Control.

The trailblazing band, whose creative energy and unwavering artistic commitment has reverberated through underground subculture and in tastemaker circles alike since the late 1990s, return with renewed passion and unrivalled skill with their fifth full-length album.

The album represents a new holistic pinnacle of the band’s constantly evolving and engaging dynamics.

One of Us is the Killer finds Ben Weinman, Greg Puciato, longtime bassist Liam Wilson and drummer Billy Rymer in top form, emphasising The Dillinger Escape Plan’s fierce independence, staunch individualism and loyalty to their unique vision which has long followed them on-stage and off.

This new era in The Dillinger Escape Plan begins now.

The Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us is the Killer will be released in May 2013 via Party Smasher Inc. / Remote Control.

Purchase ‘Prancer’ on iTunes now.

Prancer - Single - The Dillinger Escape Plan


‘Wakin On A Pretty Day’ is the first track to be taken from the forthcoming album Wakin On A Pretty Daze, out 5 April via Matador/Remote Control. Click here to download the mp3.

The front cover for Kurt’s new album was painted by Legendary Philadelphia artist ESPO (Steve Powers) check out the video below:

Kurt Vile Wakin On A Pretty Daze is out 5 April via Matador/Remote Control.