Introducing ORB

ORB 2014

The skies have opened and dropped on us a trio of kids from Geelong, Australia packing some seriously futuristic sludge: ORB. A heaping helping of proto-metal chops meets paranoid sci-fi fantastical ravings, replete with some tasty syntheisiser werk, and lovingly close mic’d to perfection by Total Control’s own Mikey Young. These epics swing with demonic swagger and crackle with the static of a menacing future, twisting and churning through loose-limbed riffery, all punctuated by a wail emanating from behind enemy lines.

ORB are proggy, in-the-pocket, head-trippy fuzz, on LP for your top shelf stash, and plans are in the works to bring their dystopian groove your way soon. In the meantime, the lead single ‘First And Last Men’ has premiered on Flood Magazine. Listen to it below.

Kaytranada – 99.9% out today!


KAYTRANADA has today released his debut album 99.9% via XL Recordings / Remote Control Records. The highly anticipated album finds the Haitian born, Montreal raised producer delivering on the promise of his early self-released EPs and remixes.

The first tastes of 99.9%, ‘Drive Me Crazy’ with Vic Mensa and ‘Leave Me Alone’ with Shay Lia, spread his name like wildfire. With their release, KAYTRANADA cemented his reputation and his sound; an undeniable swing of the drums comparable to Dilla’s, a signature soulful touch in the melodies, and a healthy dose of funky bass lines.

Purchase / stream 99.9% here.

To celebrate, Kaytranada is heading on a national tour later this year. Get your tickets here.



Hopelessness Packshot

ANOHNI, the singer of Antony and the Johnsons, has today released her new album HOPELESSNESS via Rough Trade / Remote Control Records. A collaboration with Oneohtrix Point Never and Hudson Mohawke, HOPELESSNESS is a dance record with soulful vocals and lyrics addressing subjects including surveillance, drone warfare and ecocide. The album seeks to disrupt assumptions about popular music through the collision of electronic sound and highly politicized lyrics.

The record received a 9.0 review on Pitchfork overnight – read the review.

Purchase / stream HOPELESSNESS here.

In addition, ANOHNI is performing her debut shows at Vivid Live – Final tickets on sale now here.

Adele Live In New York City airs Monday 2 May 9pm on Channel 9


On Monday 2 May, Adele Live In New York City will air on Channel 9 at 9pm AEST directly after The Voice Australia.

Adele Live In New York City features Adele’s show at Radio City Music Hall on November 17 2015.

The show was directed by Beth McCarthy-Miller with Jimmy Fallon as host.

The broadcast averaged 11.3 million viewers in the US and a 3.0 rating among adults 18–49, which represents the highest rating among adults for a prime-time concert special since the Eagles’ 2005 Farewell Tour.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Nonagon Infinity’ out today!

King Gizzard colour general use image - photo credit Lee Vincent Grubb

The irrepressible King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard have today released their fourth album in 18 months, Nonagon Infinity via Flightless / Remote Control.

After the acid-flecked cosmic jazz of Quarters! and the hazy, pastoral, acoustic bliss of Paper Mache Dream Balloon, Nonagon Infinity sees the Gizzard once again dive head-long into the gonzo freak-beat frenzy that mark both their Heavenly debut I’m In Your Mind Fuzz, and their perpetually in motion, double-drummer propelled live show.

This high-octane, face-melting 9-song collection has been ingeniously crafted as the world’s first infinitely looping LP – each track seamlessly flows into the next, with the final song linking straight back into the top of the opener.

Listen / stream / purchase Nonagon Infinity here.

Day Of The Dead share five more tracks ft. Perfume Genius, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Jim James + more!


4AD is set to release Day Of The Dead – a celebration of the Grateful Dead’s music on May 20th, 2016. Today, five additional tracks have been made available from Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends; Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band; Jim James & Friends; Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends and Unknown Mortal Orchestra. The five Grateful Dead reworkings can be downloaded instantly with Day Of The Dead album pre-orders, are available on all streaming services, and also accompanied by a series of videos directed by Collected Works.

You can stream all the tracks out now below:

Day of the Dead is a wide-ranging tribute to the songwriting and experimentalism of the Dead which took four years to record, features over 60 artists from varied musical backgrounds, 59 tracks and is almost 6 hours long. All profits from the compilation will help fight for AIDS/HIV and related health issues around the world through the US charity, Red Hot Organisation. Six additional tracks have been made previously available via instant grat with album pre-order, on streaming services and accompanied by aseries of videos directed by Michael Brown, Nick Ciontea, and Christopher Bartlett.