Capital Punishment announce new EP + share ‘Confusion’

Hot on the heels of Capital Punishment’s reissue of their 1982 album Roadkill, Kriss Roebling, Ben Stiller, Peter Zusi, and Peter Swann return with an EP of new material recorded almost 35 years after the group disbanded, This Is Capital Punishment, which will be released on November 23rd.

Recorded at the Garden in Brooklyn, This Is Capital Punishment came about when Captured Tracks boss Mike Sniper asked Roebling for bonus material for the Roadkill reissue. Along with two unreleased tracks that made it on to Roadkill, the original members got back together and did a remake of their track ‘Confusion’.

A blistering, motorik take on the original, the new version reimagines ‘Confusion’ as a much louder and sinister track. It was so loved by the label – and the band had so much fun recording it – that they decided to record more new material.

With the ‘Confusion’ remake leading off the EP, Capital Punishment burn through four other tracks that all explore the darker edges of rock ‘n’ roll. From the strangely sultry ‘Drumming Out Time Inside Me’ and ‘Grey And Illuminate’ to the band’s favourite ‘Hot Love’, Capital Punishment may not be teenage punks anymore, but they certainly haven’t lost their edge.

Related Articles