Sigur Rós will release their new album Kveikur in Australia on Friday 14 June via XL Recordings / Remote Control.

To mark the news, the band revealed new song ‘Brennisteinn’, the first track to be taken from Kveikur which was self-produced by the three members of Sigur Rós: Jón Þór Birgisson, Georg Holm and Orri Páll Dýrason.

The song is accompanied by an Andrew Huang directed video. As fans who’ve heard new songs performed on the band’s current tour will testify, ‘Brennisteinn’ marks a shift towards a more direct, aggressive sound on the new record.

Watch the video for ‘Brennisteinn’ below.

To further celebrate the announcement, Sigur Rós premiered the title track from their upcoming album on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon on Friday night.

Watch Sigur Rós perform ‘Kveikur’ on Jimmy Fallon below.

Kveikur track list:
1. Brennisteinn
2. Hrafntinna
3. Isjaki
4. Yfirbord
5. Stormur
6. Kveikur
7. Rafstraumur
8. Bláprádur
9. Var

Sigur Rós Kveikur is out Friday 14 June 2013 via XL Recordings / Remote Control.