‘Wakin On A Pretty Day’ is the first track to be taken from the forthcoming album Wakin On A Pretty Daze, out 5 April via Matador/Remote Control. Click here to download the mp3.

The front cover for Kurt’s new album was painted by Legendary Philadelphia artist ESPO (Steve Powers) check out the video below:

Kurt Vile Wakin On A Pretty Daze is out 5 April via Matador/Remote Control.


Two years after the release of their debut album Fifteen, Super Wild Horses return with their second full length Crosswords. The album will be available from Friday 5 April 2013 via Dot Dash / Remote Control.

Check out the first single ‘Alligator’ below:

Super Wild Horses are Melbourne duo Amy Franz and Hayley McKee. Formed in 2009, the pair have carved a name for themselves locally and internationally as leaders among the lo-fi garage / DIY scene currently exploding out of Australia. The pair stitch together a patchwork of guitar, drums and keys over dual harmonies and sparse arrangements.
Employing a similar recording process to their critically lauded debut album Fifteen, which was recorded and produced by Mikey Young of Eddy Current Suppression Ring and Total Control, Super Wild Horses bunkered down in the country over 2012 to complete Crosswords. Loading up a van with instruments, recording gear and engineer Jack Farley (Twerps, Beaches, St Helens), they travelled just past Castlemaine, Victoria and created their own temporary studio in an unused butter factory.
22 tracks were initially recorded over three days, but instead of relying on a purely live recording limited to the sound they could make as a two-piece, they decided to flesh out the songs with some extra instrumentation, percussion and vocals at Transient Studios in Northcote with the help of friends Liam Kenny (Bitch Prefect, Peak Twins) and Rick Milovanovic (Boomgates, Twerps).
Crosswords is a reflection on the guessing game of life; the times you get it right, and the times when you’re left staring at the aftermath of a bad decision. The album sees the duo exploring a wider range of influences from soul, country and pop and, at times, even more melancholic tones, as well as their unique brand of garage-driven goodness.

Crosswords is the follow up to Super Wild Horses assured debut album Fifteen, which was released in mid 2010. Fifteen was named ‘Album of the Week’ by Australian community radio stations Triple R, FBi and RTR, and was released in the US on respected Chicago label HoZac Records. Following the release of Fifteen, Super Wild Horses toured the USA in September 2010, including a slot at the venerable Goner Fest in Memphis Tennessee. Back home, their on-stage energy has put them on festival stages including Big Day Out, Golden Plains and Sydney Festival, and has earned them invitations to tour with the likes of Best Coast, Foo Fighters, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Eddy Current Suppression Ring, The Drones, Thee Oh Sees, Pond, Dum Dum Girls and Ty Segall.

Super Wild Horses – Crosswords

1: Alligator

2: Memphis

3: Don’t Gamble

4: Heavy Step

5: You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me

6: Meant For Two

7: Dragging The Fog

8: Ono In A Space Bubble

9: West Coast

10: Running With Wolves

11: You Have Two Feet (So Run)

12: Waikiki Romance

13: Setting Sun

Super Wild Horses – Crosswords is out Friday 5 April 2013 via Dot Dash / Remote Control.



For the past few years, Devon Welsh’s been recording solo material composed between rural Ontario and Montreal, and collaborating in production & performance with Matthew Otto under the guise Majical Cloudz.
Matador and Remote Control have the distinct pleasure to bring his next full-length to record stores worldwide.

It’s been written of Majical Cloudz: Their performance is deeply expressive — strong vocals sit on top of washes of white noise, filtered synths and sparse thuds. The songs are intensely lyrical, oriented around themes of death, patience, family and desire. The live show celebrates the joy in sadness and the value of a shared musical experience.

We’ll have more details on the full-length release shortly, but we can tell you that you’ll be hearing this song on it.
Download “Turns Turns Turns” (as previously heard on a 2012 Arbutus/Merok EP) HERE.

Watch Majical Cloudz perform the track live via Yours Truly below.

Majical Cloudz “Turns Turns Turns” from Yours Truly on Vimeo.