After 412 days in Germany, former Sydneysider Feelings (aka Simon Berkfinger) is ready to reveal his new single ‘One in a Million’.

Available digitally via iTunes from Monday 27 August, ‘One in a Million’ takes inspiration from Here Come The Warm Jets era Brian Eno. Feelings gets Tiny Tim to sing on top in a way which is both weird and beautiful.

Building on his past as a pop star in the sadly defunct Philadelphia Grand Jury, and roping in friends from his work as an eccentric but loveable indie producer, Feelings is putting the finishing touches on his new album right now as you read this.

Dan W. Sweat (Art Vs Science) and David Rennick (Dappled Cities) will be joining Feelings for a run of tiny little concerts across Australia in September, just for you. Don’t miss Feelings launch ‘One in a Million’ at Beach Road Hotel in Bondi on Wednesday 19 September, Alhambra Lounge in Brisbane on Thursday 20 September, Goodgod in Sydney on Friday 21 September, and The Workers Club in Melbourne on Saturday 22 September.

Stream ‘One in a Million’ below:

Feelings East Coast Tour – September 2012
with special guest Tom Lark (NZ)

Wednesday 19 September Beach Road Hotel, Bondi
Free entry

Thursday 20 September Lamda Lamda Lamda @ Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane*
Tickets available on the door: $10 GA / $5 Students. *Tom Lark not appearing

Friday 21 September Goodgod, Sydney
Tickets available via www.moshtix.com.au, 1300 GET TIX & Moshtix outlets

Saturday 22 September The Workers Club, Melbourne
Tickets available from Corner Box Office (57 Swan St, Richmond) or 03 9486 1677

Feelings ‘One in a Million’ will be available digitally via iTunes from 27 August 2012


The Datsuns, New Zealand’s most internationally applauded rock ‘n’ roll band, will release their fifth studio album Death Rattle Boogie on 5 October 2012 via Hellsquad / MGM Distribution.

Death Rattle Boogie will be available ten years to the day of releasing their  highly acclaimed self-titled debut. To celebrate, The Datsuns have released a new music video and offer a free song download.

2002 saw The Datsuns catapulted into the international music scene with the release of their debut record and being hailed by the British press as “the future of rock”.

Being plastered on the cover of one of the world’s biggest music publications was more than the band were ever expecting. The decade since has seen The Datsuns produce another three studio albums, tour the world many times and play some of the biggest music festivals on the planet.

Cut to 2012 and The Datsuns are ready to launch the album they are most proud of to date. Recorded in Sweden at lead singer Dolf De Borst’s Gutterview studios and at Neil Finn’s Roundhead studios in Auckland, Death Rattle Boogie took shape under the watchful hand of Nicke Andersson, ex-member of Swedish hard-rockers, The Hellacopters.

“As I’ve got older, I’ve realized the album is a band’s legacy,” says Dolf, of the mindset behind Death Rattle Boogie. “It’s what you leave behind.”

This realisation of legacy honed focus on the production of the album and the band made the most of being in the lead singer’s own studio.

Dolf elaborates, “Trying different things in the studio that you can’t do live, and dissecting records that I really love and working out, ‘How did they do that’ … So we’ve tried and make things sound a little weirder and wilder, instead of just setting up and pressing record.”

To mark this announcement, The Datsuns are giving away album track ‘Gods Are Bored’ via their website www.thedatsuns.com, where fans will also get the first look at the song’s music video. With more news to follow, including the first official single to be released in the coming weeks, fans from around the globe will be chomping at the bit to get their hands on this.

The Datsuns are: Dolf De Borst (vocals / bass), Christian Livingstone (guitar), Phil Somervell (guitar) and Ben Cole (drums).

Stay tuned for tour details.


Purity Ring perform ‘Fineshrine’ in the round at New York City’s Le Poisson Rouge. They also discuss their origins, their elaborate lighting rig, and more.


Purity Ring Shrines is out now via 4AD/Shrines.
Shrines - Purity Ring



The original ‘Love Is Gonna Lift You Up’ features on Bobby Womack’s new album The Bravest Man In The Universe. The album was produced by Damon Albarn and Richard Russell and released to widespread acclaim in June on XL Recordings.

This is a rare remix from the Bristol-based producer and DJ who’s become one of the UK’s most in demand DJs and producers. Following essential releases for a variety of labels, Bashmore recently launched his own Broadwalk Records label in fine style with the release of his own ‘Au Seve’ 12”. Bashmore also currently hosts a regular Radio One show as part of the station’s ‘In New DJs We Trust’ (tune in for the next one on Thursday 19th July)

Bobby Womack - The Bravest Man In The Universe is out now via XL/Remote Control.

The Bravest Man in the Universe - Bobby Womack


Houndmouth’s debut, self-titled EP will be released August 24 via Rough Trade/Remote Control.

Houndmouth are young four-piece Matt Myers (guitar/vocals), Katie Toupin (keyboard/vocals), Zak Appleby (bass/vocals) and Shane Cody (drums/vocals) from Louisville, Kentucky.  The EP was recorded in their self-built studio in Kentucky.

‘Houndmouth’ tracklisting:

1. Penitentiary
2. Houston Train
3. Krampus
4. The Big Oil Spill

Watch the band performing ‘Krampus’ below


Houndmouth – Krampus from Aaron Mikel on Vimeo.

On why they chose the name Houndmouth, Myers states:

“We record at nighttime to get rid of all the noise during the day like sirens and car honks, but there are always these two dogs that the neighbors have that bark all night. We recorded a bunch of tracks and finally get one that we liked, but when we played it back Shane said, “It’s not gonna work, there’s too much houndmouth on this!” He was clearly drunk because no one would say “houndmouth.” Ever. Still, the rest of the group (sobriety aside) decided that they liked the unique charm of the name.”

Click here to download the track ‘Penitentiary’.