Boys & Girls, the full-length debut album from Alabama Shakes, will be released on 6 April 2012 via Rough Trade / Remote Control.

Comprising vocalist/guitarist Brittany Howard, guitarist Heath Fogg, drummer Steve Johnson and bassist Zac Cockrell, Alabama Shakes began performing together in high school. Boys & Girls was recorded at The Bomb Shelter in Nashville, USA. Produced and mixed by the band, the album is a vibrant fusion of swampy, dirty south-rock, blues and soul delivered with punk rock fervour.

Alabama Shakes’ upcoming 2012 NME Awards debut UK shows have all sold out. Jack White’s Third Man Records has selected Alabama Shakes to kick off its series of live 45 releases with a two-song 7” due out in late January. Alabama Shakes will also make its television debut on in the USA on Conan on Tuesday 7 February 2012.

STREAM ‘HOLD ON’ – taken from debut album Boys & Girls.



Boys & Girls track-listing:

1. Hold On
2. I Found You
3. Hang Loose
4. Rise To The Sun
5. You Ain’t Alone
6. Goin’ To The Party
7. Heartbreaker
8. Boys & Girls
9. Be Mine
10. I Ain’t The Same
11. On Your Way

MP3: DIRTY THREE – ‘Rising Below’

Dirty Three – ‘Rising Below’ [mp3]

Dirty Three – Toward The Low Sun is out 24 February 2012 via Anchor & Hope / Remote Control

DIRTY THREE Toward The Low Sun track-listing:

1. Furnace Skies
2. Sometimes I Forget You’ve Gone
3. Moon on the Land
4. Rising Below
5. The Pier
6. Rain Song
7. That Was Was
8. Ashen Snow
9. You Greet Her Ghost

Australian and New Zealand Tour 2012

FRIDAY 9 MARCH – Perth, Astor Theatre
WEDNESDAY 14 MARCH – Auckland, Powerstation
FRIDAY 16 MARCH – Melbourne, The Palace
SATURDAY 17 MARCH – Gippsland, Mossvale Park, One Perfect Day Festival
SUNDAY 18 MARCH – Castlemaine, Theatre Royal
WEDNESDAY 21 MARCH – Sydney Opera House Concert Hall
THURSDAY 22 MARCH – Brisbane, The Tivoli


Ahead of the release of their second album, Future This, The Big Pink have recorded a set of five songs as part of the 4AD Sessions series. Bringing to life the anthemic qualities of the new album, the session is a showcase of the unabashed step towards stadium dynamics the band have made on Future This, while also displaying the often-curveball influences that continue to underpin their best work.

Filmed in 3 Mills Studios, the location was to have a coincidental resonance with the music. Based on Three Mill Island in Bromley-by-Bow, the island is London’s oldest surviving industrial centre with evidence to suggest that the mills it houses were listed in the Domesday Book. The grand historical associations and JG Ballard-esque setting appears fitting of the darkened, industrial undertones that course through even the most pop moments of The Big Pink’s music. Channeling the epic, immersive and otherworldy feel of the new album, the stark backdrop of the warehouse-like space was coupled with lasers used in a structural way to frame the band and change the physical surroundings.

Playing several tracks from Future This, alongside spiritual cousin ‘Velvet’, taken from the first album, the session captures what makes The Big Pink such an intriguing band. Effortlessly moving between the outre sounds of the underground and their love for shameless pop hooks, the band display the full scale of their creative ambitions.


1. ‘Stay Gold’
2. ‘Hit The Ground (Superman)’
3. ‘Velvet’
4. ‘Rubbernecking’
5. ‘Give It Up’

[info via 4AD]


Rohnert Park, California’s CEREMONY will be releasing their fourth album Zoo this March via Matador.

Working with producer John Goodmanson, the band have refined their jagged sound while continuing to pursue themes of exurban alienation and confinement. Their previous three albums are widely seen as the most compelling, unusual and progressive hardcore of the last five years.

You can now download ‘Hysteria’, the lead track of the new album:

Ceremony – ‘Hysteria’ [mp3]

[info via Matador]


Brooklyn, NY’s TANLINES will release their debut album, Mixed Emotions in March 2012 via True Panther.

The album was recorded in various NYC home studios and mixed in Miami by legendary mixing engineer Jimmy Douglass (Timbaland, Aaliyah, Justin Timberlake, Television, Roxy Music).

Mixed Emotion’s first taste, ‘Brothers’ is available for download now:

Tanlines – ‘Brother’ [mp3]

[info via Matador]


Boasting an impeccable roster of up-and-coming Australian talent, independent label Broken Stone Records is hitting the road in February for a roadshow extravaganza.

With a suitcase full of great local artists, the touring showcase of music and mixed-media art will feature live performances from Sister Jane, Magnetic Heads, Caitlin Park and The Maple Trail and will visit Byron Bay, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, Newcastle and Sydney, as well as regional cities Bellingen, Kyneton, Clifton and Katoomba.

The bands’ performances will be accompanied by live footage VJ-ing and projections of their video clips. An exciting display of artworks created as part of Broken Stone’s recording releases (including sculptural work used in film clips, photographs from live shows and illustrative cover art) will be on show in the venue space for audiences to explore.


Roadhouse blues and tangled rock’n’roll dreamers SISTER JANE hail from the Blue Mountains. Following the release of their debut full length Mercy in 2011, Broken Stone Records is excited to announce the re-release of Mercy on 12″ vinyl in 2012. This re-issue will feature a limited edition alternate cover and a free download.

Longlisted for the AMP 2011, CAITLIN PARK’s debut album Milk Annual has been widely received as a par excellence debut effort. A singer-songwriter from Sydney, Park is not your average neo-folk musician and has single-handedly taken this genre and pulled it to the left with her abstract composition, electro-acoustic stylings and film nostalgia. Caitlin has spent some time in the UK in late 2011 and will be returning to release her sophomore album and tour in May 2012.

After two widely acclaimed EPs, there is much anticipation for the debut album from Sydney based four-piece MAGNETIC HEADS. The band (which has been compared to the Go Betweens, The Talking Heads and Echo & The Bunnymen) has spent the bright Australian summer writing and will be recording their first full length in March of 2012 – scheduled for a release this September.

THE MAPLE TRAIL will release their latest album Cable Mount Warning in March 2012. With Cable Mount Warning, The Maple Trail charges forth in a calamitous chorus of epic, introspective, yet summery folk songs that take you down a dark winding path before throwing you into the light.


Thursday 9 February – Bellingen Memorial Hall, Bellingen NSW – ALL AGES
Friday 10 February – Byron Bay Brewery Bryon Bay NSW
Saturday 11 February – The Waiting Room, Brisbane QLD – ALL AGES
Friday 17 February – The Street Theatre, Canberra ACT – ALL AGES
Saturday 18 February – Kyneton Town Hall, Kyneton VIC – ALL AGES
Sunday 19 February- Horse Bazaar, Melbourne VIC
Wednesday 22 February – The Lass, Newcastle NSW
Thursday 23 February – The Standard, Sydney NSW
Friday 24 February – The Clifton School of Arts, Clifton NSW – ALL AGES
Saturday 25 February – The Baroque Bar, Katoomba NSW